Search results for: kite day

Ellie Herring – “Kite Day”

ellieherring_072313_medium_imageReleased July 23rd [Race Car]

Genre: Ambient Electronica

It’s been a great summer for producing music if you happen to be Ellie Herring. After first releasing her eleven-song collection of remixes last month (a very strong release in itself,) she’s put out another cluster of previously unheard tracks. Kite Day is named for a day in her elementary school years where students were allowed to go outside and fly kites, but more importantly refers to her father’s taking of time the day before to teach her how to fly one. The music, too, has a feeling of the fogginess that surround my own – and perhaps your – childhood memories, flowing around lazily from section to section, song to song. She traverses every texture available – putting massive amounts of reverb with the vocals, panning synths and pads with precise intention, and stirring in sharp drum beats to give a certain amount of busyness to the sound that that borders on, sometimes stumbling into the territory of trance music. Unlike Potion Shop, Kite Day originates entirely from music she wrote herself – though it is tail-ended with three remixes of songs from this album. Not surprisingly, the songs chosen to be remixed are also the ones that stick out initially as most accessible, and are done well themselves. This is the kind of music that necessitates sitting down with a decent pair of headphones or speakers and simply allowing oneself to get lost – Ellie has made that an easy thing to do here.

Stream Kite Day here.

Like Ellie Herring on Facebook.

Ben Southworth – July 30th, 2013 – Cedar Creek

Ellie Herring – “Potion Shop”

a3978865550_10Self-Released June 18th, 2013

Genre: Trance-y Electronic Remixing

I’ll admit, this is my first experience listening through an entire Ellie Herring album, and this isn’t even her music. Or is it? Without much experience with her stuff to compare it to, it’s tough to say – with some experience with the music that has been remixed, it sounds like it’s got to be her music, at least in part. The album takes upbeat songs that were meant to be danced to – music from tUnE-yArDs, Le1f (who was in town for last year’s Boomslang Festival,) even Janet Jackson – and turns them into breezy sequences that make them sound much more like trance music than they did in their original states. That said, the hooks from the original songs are largely retained and the personalities of each artist is allowed to shine through – each song does this in a way unique to the artist whose music is being remixed. Herring, then, just adds her own style – largely by attaching tastefully-busy drums, cascading synthesizers – taking out some of the intensity, and leaving the listener in a trance. Potion Shop is a collection of remixes that Herring has done in the last couple years, but with an upcoming album of original material coming next month, its release is admittedly well-timed. As one of Lexington’s favorite artists, the sounds on this album bode well for what’s coming up in July with Kite Day.

Give these tracks a listen – Janet Jackson’s If, Social Studies’ Terracur, Le1f’s Wut, tUnE-yArDs’ Gangsta, and Ladytron’s Melting Ice.

– Ben Southworth – June 18th, 2013

Kentucky Music Archive

This page is a running archive of Kentucky music –

This page focuses on arranging the musical releases of Kentucky musicians: It includes the album title, artist name, and release date for albums they’ve released – especially those released since this site was launched. Many of the entries are linked to a review that we’ve written for that particular album.

Please contact us if –

    • You think an entry is missing from this page
    • You think something is incorrect
    • You have a suggestion of any other kind







  • December 8: Heavy Chase – Spinning in Circles
  • December 7: Absalom Absalom – Movers and Shakers
  • December 7: Warren Byrom and Friends – A Fabled Candied Yams Holiday Sampler
  • December 3: Three Legged Race – Persuasive Barrier
  • November 27: Osland/Dailey Jazztet – The Mendoza Line
  • November 6: The Pass – Melt
  • November 6: Sandpaper Dolls – Sandpaper Dolls
  • October 31: Jovontaes – So Far
  • October 30: Wax Fang – Mirror Mirror
  • October 24: Another7Astronauts – The Golden Autumn and the Afternoon
  • October 20: Tiny Tiny – Leave Me With Today
  • October 19: Astor Place Riot – Crossing Lines EP
  • October 9: Blind Corn Liquor Pickers – Myths & Routines
  • October 4: Various Artists – 10 in 20: A Lexington Recording Project
  • October 2: Drug – In[Tune]ition
  • September 25: Ben Sollee – Half Made Man
  • September 25: Cross – Die Forever
  • July 11: Cari Clara – Midnight March
  • July 2: Eric Lanham – The Sincere Interruption
  • June 25: Mark Fosson – Digging in the Dust
  • June 9: Nativity Singers – Nativity Singers
  • April 6: Those Crosstown Rivals – Kentucky Gentlemen
  • March 13: Three Legged Race – Wrong Element EP

Yikes… the site got away from us a few times over these last several years. What are we missing?