Tagged: post rock

Twin Limb – Haplo

haplo-cover-900-1474493017Colossal Dream Pop

Suretone Records – October 28, 2016

Just about a year ago, Twin Limb gave people a taste of their sound with the release of the EP, Anything is Possible and Nothing Makes Sense. A lot of dream pop might get written off for being too delicate, but that’s hardly the case on Haplo. The songs here sound massive and are beautifully orchestrated, defying the idea that they’re being created by just three individuals – let alone that one of the main textures you’re hearing is the accordion. For the most part, these tracks play in three minutes or less, packing in a great deal in a short time. “Long Shadow” is set at a medium pace, showing off Guthrie’s powerful voice and the textural finesse of Bender and Ratterman. More uptempo is “Gold from Teeth,” which explodes with noisy, crashing guitars upon reaching the second chorus, showing off the darker side of the band’s sound. The album’s longest song (and my favorite) is “Sutro Baths,” a patient six-minute crescendo that layers on more instruments and intensity as it plays out – the track reaches a gorgeous climax right before it hits five minutes. Haplo is well worth the listen, and Twin Limb seems like a band to keep your eye on over the next couple years – given the sounds on this record and their upcoming tour with fellow Louisvillian, Jim James, it’s hard to imagine people wont notice them.

Tracks I Liked: Long Shadow!, Red Sun, Sutro Baths!!, Gold from Teeth!, Aine, Monolith

Ben Southworth – November 13, 2016 – Kenwick Place

Dream the Electric Sleep – Beneath the Dark Wide Sky

dtesProgressive Post-Rock 

Mutiny Records – July 22, 2016

Back in my days of hosting WRFL-Live! – during which time I hosted somewhere around fifty or sixty bands – I distinctly remember Dream the Electric Sleep as the loudest. Though the band is made up of just three musicians, Matt Page, Joey Waters, and Chris Tackett create sounds that are not simply big, but complex, nuanced, and beautiful. Further, the production on Beneath the Dark Wide Sky showcases how in-sync the three are with one another. The songs here choose texture and melody over speed – this isn’t the sort of prog-rock that tries to blow your mind with a sheer number of notes played. Instead, they let the rhythm subdivision propel the energy in their songs, so that while they may not ever feel fast, they do feel massive and unstoppable. “Let the Light Flood In” is maybe the album’s most accessible and is primed for radio play with a catchy, impactful chorus. My favorite of the album is “Culling the Herd” – seven minute track, complete with a rich chord progression in the chorus, and a word-painted bridge whose tonality and repetition cleverly mimic the lyrics ‘when you fall you fall hard, from the top down to the bottom, there’s nothing to stop.’ As an album, Beneath the Dark Wide Sky is expertly produced and performed, and full of colossal, beautiful, well-structured songs that are difficult not to be mesmerized by.

Tracks I Liked: Let the Light Flood In!, Flight, Hanging By Time, Culling the Herd!!, The Last Psalm to Silence, The Good Night Sky!

Ben Southworth – September 11, 2016 – Kenwick Place

Sea Hero – Graustark

a2415691309_10Instrumental Post Rock

Self-Released – January 9th, 2016

Sea Hero is a Louisville five-piece that released this album just in time to call it quits as a band. Though the group has been playing and producing music since before 2012, Graustark is the first album of theirs that I’ve heard, and a really nice one at that. Made up of six songs, the album plays in under thirty-five minutes, but in no way does it feel short or rushed – most of the songs are mid-tempo, texturally oriented tracks that take a calculated time to flesh themselves out before reaching their next point of arrival. Without words (although “Pride Comes Before the Fall” features a vocal sample), Sea Hero is fully capable of conveying emotion and some narrative with guitars, a bass, and drums. Most effective are those tracks that fully explore the band’s capacity for range – the album’s first track, “Like Beasts,” begins with a quiet intro, patiently rumbles into a full-out wash of guitars, and exits softly with a reprise of the intro. In much the same way, “A Spoonful of Dirt,” closes the album with even more a patient build, reaching multiple climaxes throughout its playtime – the final three minutes of the song are totally gorgeous, well-orchestrated noise. Between these two tracks are heavier, grungier pieces of music – “They Will Fall, They Always Do” has the distortion and reverb turned up on the guitars, the bass pumping with a more devious intensity, and an even more dramatic presence from the drums. As a whole, Graustark is well-paced, intricate, and explores a full range of textures, atmospheres, and emotions. For those who like post-rock – Explosions in the Sky, Godspeed You! Black Emperor, or even Sigur Rós – this should be a very enjoyable and repeatable listen.

Tracks I Liked: Like Beasts!!, Pride Comes Before the Fall!, They Will Fall, They Always Do, A Spoonful of Dirt!!!

Ben Southworth – January 13th, 2016 – Kenwick Place

Satellite Twin – The Mechanical Hearts EP

a0597827793_10Post Punk Garage Rock

October 17th, 2015 – Gubbey Records

The Mechanical Hearts EP is the product of Louisville’s hard driving trio, Satellite Twin – the EP is a collection of five spacey, angular songs that tie together sounds from both prog, post, and punk rock. Most of the songs start with extended instrumental sections that shuffle back and forth between off-kilter phrases, and even when they get to the lyrics, they’re usually not around for too long. The instrumental ability of the band is the most important part of the album – two of the three musicians can be doing something fairly repetitive, keeping perfect time while the third goes off on some sort of totally outrageous pattern. Satellite Twin would play well in a live setting – I imagine that the show would only amplify the intensity and excitement that the band is able to capture on the tape. The final track of the album, “cracks and stains (on the marquee slogan)” is the obvious stand out here – you can feel the song getting more and more anxious as it heads towards the chorus, bursts forth into an incredibly catchy recitation of the song’s title, does a quick coordinated turnaround, and heads back into the song’s main groove. Other tracks are good too – the breakdown that happens towards three minute mark of “raise the sign” feels like it comes out of nowhere, and it’s an incredibly satisfying way to end the song. The Mechanical Hearts EP is has a way of being simultaneously atmospheric and hazy while feeling intense and relentless. Another strong release from an inventive Louisville band, this is worth checking out.

Tracks I Liked: raise the sign!!, mechanical hearts!, cracks and stains (on the marquee slogan)!!!

Ben Southworth – November 15th, 2015 – William T. Young Library